top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ.M. Newcomb

The final shot

I was reading through a discussion on an ambiguous ending of a movie I just finished, and something hit me: we never see the ending of any movie.


The observer becomes part of the film, as they experience it. The ending of any movie isn't the last shot; it is your reaction. What is happening in your mind is the end of the film.


There is no definite ending to any piece of art; it carries on in the way it affects us. Maybe art is a question. Maybe it is mirror. Whatever is becomes within us, and through us, it is certainly not resolved.


No piece of art exists as an independent something; it is a process. Artists aren't creating a thing; they are igniting movement that passes through and connects all.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bloody Violent Art

As an artist, I'm not big on censorship of media. BUT... I was on YouTube and a trailer for a new school shooting movie popped up; I was forced to wait before I could hit the skip button. I'll try not

A reminder to simply let go of everything

Let go of race. Let go of gender. Let go of pride. Let go of signs. Let go of titles. Let go of positions & perspectives. Let go of form. Let go of purpose. Let go of thought. Let go of gravity. Let g

My one man war against Kidz Bop

(I know I shouldn't obsess over it. I know my one man war will do nothing against it.) BUT... STOP PLAYING KIDZ BOP FOR YOUR KIDS Why is that our go-to music at work (I work in a school)?? Because it

bottom of page