top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ.M. Newcomb

My one man war against Kidz Bop

Updated: Jun 3, 2020

(I know I shouldn't obsess over it. I know my one man war will do nothing against it.) BUT...

STOP PLAYING KIDZ BOP FOR YOUR KIDS


Why is that our go-to music at work (I work in a school)?? Because it doesn't have curse words? The word damn is a lot less damaging than songs about unhealthy adult romantic relationships marketed to kids.


READ THE LYRICS!!! They are songs about pining away for people, songs about infidelity, and songs about getting sexy on the dance floor. Yes, use your body how you want; but your child doesn't understand all the complexities of it. They will strip on TikTok for older men, because that's how the pop industry sells music, and that's what you fortify when you play these songs for them. Obviously they are going to experience love and have relationships, but not in the same way we do. These songs talk about people not feeling whole without someone else; that is damaging to developing identity & female empowerment. These songs talk about extreme jealousy; that kind of obsession over another person is unhealthy and fortifies an ownership mindset in relationships. These songs talk about cheating; I know that happens, but pop songs present an adult perspective on it.


If you like catchy pop, that is fine. There are billions of songs that would work. Radio pop is not made for kids, and should never be adapted for kids. It is mindless mind-numbing music made to be easily digested for the masses. It presents unhealthy coping mechanisms and seduces you with unrealistic lives of glamour and materialism. Kidz Bop is the equivalent of mountain dew in a sippy cup. Yes, it tastes good and you wish someone handed you one, but you're poisoning your kids.


I know I am biased. I know I am a music snob. But, I also know how influential music is. It's been with us since the dawn of time. It's a survival need, just as much as a warm touch or a plate of food. It ends wars. It gets us through addiction. It inspires us to be better people. It brings us together in celebration. Take responsibility for what you feed your mind, or raise a generation of oversexualized depressed shallow materialistic people.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bloody Violent Art

As an artist, I'm not big on censorship of media. BUT... I was on YouTube and a trailer for a new school shooting movie popped up; I was forced to wait before I could hit the skip button. I'll try not

The final shot

I was reading through a discussion on an ambiguous ending of a movie I just finished, and something hit me: we never see the ending of any movie. The observer becomes part of the film, as they experie

A reminder to simply let go of everything

Let go of race. Let go of gender. Let go of pride. Let go of signs. Let go of titles. Let go of positions & perspectives. Let go of form. Let go of purpose. Let go of thought. Let go of gravity. Let g

bottom of page