top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ.M. Newcomb

A reminder to simply let go of everything

Let go of race. Let go of gender. Let go of pride. Let go of signs. Let go of titles. Let go of positions & perspectives. Let go of form. Let go of purpose. Let go of thought. Let go of gravity. Let go of hearing.


The universe is just wishy-washy mushy nonsense. Definitions are constructs of a mind that is also wishy-washy mushy nonsense.


I know this is a radical notion that would be impossible to live by, as human beings. Yet, I believe it is something worth considering, and something to practice. Hence why I practice Zen & have an attraction to surrealism.


Our way of living was formed by our reaction to the external. Our thoughts are consequence of what we fill our mind with.


This is to say that separation, self, society, morality, etc. have been constructed; and they can also be deconstructed.


Yes, we need something to believe in, and some kind of science to build our life upon.


BUT, you also need to remember that there is no you or that!


There IS value in the reality you choose to accept, but the value is only weighed by how tightly you hold onto it.


Sometimes, you need to just let go.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bloody Violent Art

As an artist, I'm not big on censorship of media. BUT... I was on YouTube and a trailer for a new school shooting movie popped up; I was forced to wait before I could hit the skip button. I'll try not

The final shot

I was reading through a discussion on an ambiguous ending of a movie I just finished, and something hit me: we never see the ending of any movie. The observer becomes part of the film, as they experie

My one man war against Kidz Bop

(I know I shouldn't obsess over it. I know my one man war will do nothing against it.) BUT... STOP PLAYING KIDZ BOP FOR YOUR KIDS Why is that our go-to music at work (I work in a school)?? Because it

bottom of page