top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ.M. Newcomb

The deep dark mind

Updated: Feb 21, 2021

The dream world is such a dangerously mysterious place to be for me. Every night I am seduced into its clutches; once it has me, it puts me into scenes that are the perfect blend of my darkest fears and my greatest joys. My dreams are always so dreary, but they entice me. They are anxiety-ridden, and yet there is something that soothes me into the nightmarish interactions and apocalyptic landscapes.

Sometimes I wish that I could tap into this subconscious creative potential. Maybe I should look into some type of meditation techniques or sensory deprivation.

In fact, I don't pass off dreaming as something trivial. For me, dreaming is connecting to the vastness of the universe; it's spiritual. It is breaking free from the material world and allowing the mind to freely explore multiple dimensions and ways of being.

I believe that, when we die, we are released into the dream world for good. Our physical body decays and is recycled into the environment, but our mind is sent out spinning. Sure, the brain can't physically connect with it anymore, because it has lost the ability to send electrical pulses. Yet in some hidden dimension, like a digital cloud, the subconscious version of us still roams. To better explain, the brain is like a computer that connects to the cloud. When the computer crashes for good, it can no longer connect to the cloud; however, the cloud still exists and your data still remains there.

On a similar note, I worry about how our subconscious is muddied by the constant bombardment of cheap entertainment and advertisements. What would my dreams be like if I had no influence from the outside world? Almost all of our mind is conditioned from the external world. We shape it through experiences and then the rest is given to us. How tainted has my mind become from the junk I feed it? How perverted? How suppressed?

I think it's important to think about this. The subconscious mind plays a powerful role in our psychology. We can explore it through dreaming.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bloody Violent Art

As an artist, I'm not big on censorship of media. BUT... I was on YouTube and a trailer for a new school shooting movie popped up; I was forced to wait before I could hit the skip button. I'll try not

The final shot

I was reading through a discussion on an ambiguous ending of a movie I just finished, and something hit me: we never see the ending of any movie. The observer becomes part of the film, as they experie

A reminder to simply let go of everything

Let go of race. Let go of gender. Let go of pride. Let go of signs. Let go of titles. Let go of positions & perspectives. Let go of form. Let go of purpose. Let go of thought. Let go of gravity. Let g

bottom of page