top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ.M. Newcomb

Mindful, stress less

People often find themselves frustrated with how calm I am in moments that cause many others stress.

It often causes them to think that I am careless or apathetic to certain issues.

I am usually met with an exhausted sounding individual skeptically questioning how I am so carefree.

I think mindfulness is a major part of it.

When faced with negative anxiety, I practice mindfulness.

You see, I think stress comes from a mix of fear & expectation in the present moment. When you obsess over the future, you hold expectations. When you dwell in the past, you fear the re-emergence of bad situations. There is no room in the present moment for the past or future. When you practice mindfulness and stay centered in the present moment, there is no fear or expectation, & you eliminate stress.

Though, not all stress is bad. We should embrace stress; pressure helps us to grow & build resilience.

We need to try & be okay with ambiguity, and realize that we are not in control of the events around us; we are only in control of our thoughts in the present. So, let go of your past & fears. Let go of your idealized future. See the now as it as & bob along the waves until you reach shore.

18 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bloody Violent Art

As an artist, I'm not big on censorship of media. BUT... I was on YouTube and a trailer for a new school shooting movie popped up; I was forced to wait before I could hit the skip button. I'll try not

The final shot

I was reading through a discussion on an ambiguous ending of a movie I just finished, and something hit me: we never see the ending of any movie. The observer becomes part of the film, as they experie

A reminder to simply let go of everything

Let go of race. Let go of gender. Let go of pride. Let go of signs. Let go of titles. Let go of positions & perspectives. Let go of form. Let go of purpose. Let go of thought. Let go of gravity. Let g

bottom of page